Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Some questions for a 30 gallon FOWLR

ECAS member

Some questions for a 30 gallon FOWLR

Hi everyone, this is my first post here. Figured I'd make the inaugural post in the FOWLR subboard. My name is Steve, currently living in Charlottetown. I'm pretty new to the whole aquarium thing and I am in the process of setting up a 30gal SW tank. FOWLR for now, maybe coral in the future. Found out I'll have to move in about 6 months so not until at least after that. I have a few questions I'm looking to have clarified.

1. Right now I have an AC30 for filtration (new sponge/biomax/carbon in it). From what I understand I'll need a better filter for SW. There's someone in my area listing a Remora Pro protein skimmer for 100$, and google tells me these retail for $200+. Would this in addition to the AC30 be sufficient for my filtration needs?
    2. A bought a couple small pieces of live rock at my LFS (~4lbs) to get the tank cycling. It's quite expensive at my LFS at $12+/lb. How much live rock should I eventually have? There's also someone locally online selling some fiji "base" rock, it was live rock, but has been out of aquarium for a while (but not let to dry out). Can I use some of this instead?

Thanks for any help!

ECAS Ambassador/Forum Moderator

Welcome to ECAS & the forumClick here to enlarge I'm not a salty but there's lots on here who are, so I'm sure you will get your questions answered relatively quickly. I've been following several threads of people going through the same as you ( http://www.eastcoastaquariumsociety....2857-125G-Reef ) and it appears that they use lots of base rock (not live) and some live to start because you're right live rock is very expensive. Like I said though I'm not a salty so take whatever I say as a grain of salt and wait for the experts to chip in. Once again welcome Click here to enlarge

ECAS member