Thread: Green algae?

ECAS member

Green algae?

I recently bought a 30gal nano reef tank from a friend to try and save it. When I first saw the thing every rock was covered in hair algae, the glass could not be looked through due to a carpet of green algae, the salt levels where off the charts all the fish had died but one and a water change/filter cleaning had not been done in 4 months. Saying all this I have zero experience in salt water tanks and have only had fresh water fish for the the past 5 years. But I have managed to clean up 80% of the hair algae, get proper water flow and filtration on it but for the last week the green algae on the glass has been going crazy. I can clean the glass fully in the morning and by the next morning the glass is covered in a green carpet. I'am curious what could be causing this and how can I keep it from coming back.

Here is what the tank looks like about 20 hours after I clean it. http://tinypic.com/r/2zrj1j4/6 and http://tinypic.com/r/2eklpqg/6

I do not know the full numbers on my water but I know nitrites are almost zero and the lighting is 2 T5 power-glo 24w and 2 marine-glo 24w blubs. i have done a 20% water change once in the last week and do not over feed. The tank currently holds 1 red and white shrimp (unsure of name), 5 hermit crabs, 1 6-lined wrasse, 1 clownfish a ton of random starfish and a few centipede looking things that come out at night.

Any help on solving this problem would be great!

Zac

ECAS member

how long are your lights left on for?
    and do you have any sort of clean up crew?

ECAS member

I bought the shrimp, 5 hermit crabs and a urchin in hopes they would keep the tank clean. the lights are left on from 6:30am to midnight so the tank only has 6 and a half hours of darkness every day. I was also looking into picking up a blenny to clean the rest of the hair algae I couldn't get off by hand.

ECAS member

you should cut your lights back.