Thread: Euphyllia Bugs treatment

Club Supporter

Euphyllia Bugs treatment

Hi Folks,

I had noticed over the past 3-4 weeks one of my frogspawn had not been opening as much as it used to. It had formed two mouths on one head, so I had assumed it was trying to split and didn't think much of it since all of the other corals were fine. However, after awhile I noticed that it just looked ragged for lack of a better term. Upon closer inspection I noticed that it was swarmed in very small white specks. I wondered what this was, but then... The specks moved. The coral was virtually swarmed with them; just the one.

I posted in several forums, and received mostly advice that I was a newbie and those were simply copepods hanging out on my frogspawn and are nothing to worry about. I questioned my knowledge of what I knew about "pods", and decided they could certainly be right; considering hey... I have not been doing this for very long. However my tank is loaded with copepods, isopods, and amphipods. These were much smaller than anything I have ever seen so I decided to dig deeper.

I sent PMs to many people, from 5 or 6 different forums. I googled "white euphyllia" bugs and essentially PMd anyone who looked like they had ran into them in the past.

I learned several things about this bug

1. It does exist; and it is bad.
    2. No commercial aquarium product seems to eradicate it
    3. Two products used that were "successful" were Interceptor dog dewormer, and Bayers Insect Killer.

*Note* Interceptor is believed to be safer and more mild; but it is a veterinary prescription and I could not have a vet give it to me. I ended up taking my two 80 pound dogs in and got their yearly dewormer and got interceptor this time around instead of the usual stuff. So... If you don't have a big dog; I hope you have an understanding; open minded vet. Interceptor is also $20 dollars per large pill (Interceptor White)