Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: White Mold

  1. #1
    ECAS member

    Scot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Fall River, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    838

    White Mold

    I just settled in to clean my tank and noticed what looks like white mould growing in both my AC110 filters.

    I haven't changed anything with my setup and also haven't seen this before. Any ideas folks.

    Click here to enlarge

  2. #2
    ECAS member

    Juiceyfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Charlottetown
    Posts
    1,398
    If u ask me there was probably some mulm or bits of food that happened to be there and the moisture started the mold then it just spreaded!! Justba guess as I've had mold under my kids from food dropped on and not cleaned !

  3. #3
    ECAS member

    Scot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Fall River, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    838
    Should I be concerned?

  4. #4
    ECAS member

    Scot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Fall River, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    838
    I just thought of something that has changed for these 2 filters. I recently put pre filters on the intakes as my Oscar was kicking up sand. Could this have something to do with it. It is in both my HOB filters.

  5. #5
    ECAS member

    Juiceyfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Charlottetown
    Posts
    1,398
    I wouldn't be too concerned but I would probably clean it off as best as u can withsome hot cloth ...and as for the pre filter is it just a sponge covering the intake or something else? If it's a sponge I use these also I find they work great and makes the bacteria grow much more "colonized" may be the word in the sponge in the filter!

  6. #6
    Super Moderator

    DevonC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Moncton
    Posts
    3,687
    It's nothing to worry about , something must have splashed up their and the mold grew on the residue.

    As for the prefilters, It is possible that the Prefilters might have slowed flow just enough to lower the water level in the filter exposing an area that was previously submerged or partially submerged and the mold took hold on the redidue left behind when the water level dropped.

    Either way it's harmless just wipe it away .
    My Aquariums *Updated Feb. 2016
    180g- Scleropages aureus
    100g- 4x Channa Pleurophthalma , 1x Erpetoichthys Calabaricus, 2x Synodontis Eupterus, Polypterus ssp.'s Lapradei, Delhezi,Ornatipinnis ,Endlicheri & Angsorii x2
    160g- Carettochelys Insculpta
    100g- Pair Channa Aurantimaculata,
    80g 1x Channa Aurantimaculata (for sale...inquire)
    70g- Solo Channa Asiatica,
    30g- 1x Channa Gachua (for sale ... Inquire)
    35g- 3x Channa Gachua,
    35g- Pair of Channa Bleheri
    25g- 3x Channa Bleheri

  7. #7
    ECAS member

    Scot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Fall River, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    838
    Thanks Devon, I did wipe it off and have been keeping an eye to see if it comes back. Something odd I noticed as well is that in both ac110's the mild is only growing on the side farthest from the intake at the top of the media basket. Exact same spot on both filters.
    could it have anything to do with the sponges that were added to the intakes? Maybe something not getting in the filter that should be. Just a shot in the dark.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •